hoping for a miracle

December 4, 2009 at 11:48 pm (Thoughts) (, , , )

I’ve read in many places that your body becomes super fertile after a miscarriage. One of our best friends had a miscarriage and concieved immediately afterwards, before she even had her period. She carried the baby to full term and now has a little boy.

One of the most helpful things that M has told me is his theory of a miracle. If you think about it, it truly is a miracle that life can begin. So many things have to go just right in order for this to work. Sometimes it can be tough to get things right the first time around. I’m trying to think of my miscarriage as a “practice round”. This was my first pregnancy, and my body just didn’t know quite how to go about building a baby. Now it’s had it’s practice round and (hopefully) knows what to do the second time around.

It’s only a few more days now until we start trying again and I’m definitely hoping and praying for a miracle to happen.

4 Comments

  1. K said,

    I have heard the same thing about being super fertile after a miscarriage. I also know a couple women who got pregnant right after their first miscarriage…so I hope the same happens for you. You may want to google the ‘sperm meets egg’ plan. It’s on a pregnancy loss website and it basically tells you a sure fire way to get pregnant using ovulation predictor tests. I have tried it twice and it worked both times. I bought the ovulations tests on an ‘early pregnancy test’ website and they are super cheap, as are their pregnancy tests. Just thought I’d pass on a little tip. 🙂

  2. understands said,

    Hi there Tasha. It´s great to hear that you´re feeling so positive. Keep it up. I´ll keep my fingers crossed for both of you. This was my first month of trying since my miscarriage in August. Today my period is one day late. I don´t actually feel pregnant, but I took a test anyway this morning and sure enough it came out negative. I sort of knew it was going to be negative but you still have hope. Now I feel like I am back at square one waiting for my period to arrive and wondering whether the mc has messed up my cycles. 😦 The first time round, we got pregnant immediately. I guess that is why it is so hard to take. I really think that stressing about it is not good. But the thing is, how do you stop yourself from stressing when you want it so much? take care xxx

  3. badwillow said,

    hey tasha, thanks for visiting and linking my blog. it seems like we have very similar stories. i think we may be ready to start trying again very soon. we’re trying to be relaxed about it, and trying to think about getting pregnant but just a fun roll in the hay. 😉 of course easier said than done.

  4. tasha said,

    Thanks for reading and leaving your comments, ladies. It really helps to be able to connect with people who understand what I’m going through.

    @badwillow – It’s definitely hard to be relaxed about it and just have fun. It’s like that naiveté and innocence is lost now. I have my fingers crossed that Christmas day will be extra special for us, but I also don’t want to get my hopes up too high in case it doesn’t happen for us right away again. Good luck to you when you’re ready to start trying again.

    @understands – I know what you mean about stressing. I’ve read in a few places that your cycle can get all wonky after a MC, but also that women tend to be super fertile, so I’ve got my fingers crossed for you!

    @ K – thanks for the tip, I checked out the plan you suggested!

Leave a Reply

