santa. baby.

December 25, 2009 at 2:10 pm (Trying to conceive) (, )

One of the suggestions when you take a home pregnancy test is that you test using your first pee of the day. As my luck would have it, I woke up at 2AM with a full bladder. Wait, I told myself, don’t ruin the test in the morning by peeing in the middle of the night. Hold it, hold it, hold it. So I went back to sleep but woke up again at 3:30. And again at 4AM. And once again at 5AM. I had to go, but I didn’t want to potentially ruin the test. However, I wasn’t particularly interested in fumbling with the test at five in the morning, either. After wrestling with my thoughts for several minutes, I decided that I just couldn’t hold it any longer – nature was calling.

Honey… I whispered.

M grumbled and rolled. What??

I gotta pee, but I don’t want to ruin the test for later if I pee now. I can’t hold it anymore, I’ve had to pee for like 3 hours. Should we just test now?

He laughed. Might as well.

So, still half asleep, I climbed out of bed, unwrapped the test in the bathroom and followed the directions carefully. I placed it back on the counter, finished up and came back to bed to wait out our 3 minutes. When the time arrived, we both got up and walked to the bathroom door, which was still shut. I took M’s hand as he opened the door to look at the results.

We both had to lean in closer to see, but there it was…. two pink lines. One was lighter than the other, but undoubtedly, there they were: two pink lines staring back at us.

Merry Christmas, baby.

10 Comments

  1. K said,

    Congratulations Tasha and hubby!! Santa was good to you this year! I got goosebumps when I read this post! Looking forward to future posts about your little peanut!! So happy for you!! 🙂 🙂

  2. 2LoveBirds said,

    Congratulations! That is fantastic news – all the best for a happy, healthy and sticky 9 months!

  3. christy said,

    YAYAYAYAYAYA!!! your Christmas can’t get much better than that!! congrats 🙂

  4. tasha said,

    Thank you SO much, ladies. We are so happy and excited – what a perfect start to Christmas day 🙂

  5. Understands said,

    Hurrayyyy! Wonderful news! Congratulations!!! 🙂 xxx

  6. L said,

    I was thinking about you all day yesterday! I am so excited for you and wish you all the best this time around. Pleae keep us updated on how you’re feeling, etc. I can’t tell you what a comfort your blog and the commenters are to me– gives me some hope when I haven’t been able to find it elsewhere.

    MERRY CHRISTMAS and all the best for a happy and healthy 2010!!

  7. moon said,

    omg, congrats, that is so amazing!!!
    merry christmas!

  8. Eleanor said,

    Congratulations! What a great Christmas gift! Praying for a happy & healthy 9 months for you!

  9. Sarah said,

    What a wonderful Christmas present!! I will absolutely add you to my blogroll and pray for a healthy 9 months.

    xo
    Sarah

  10. Quinn said,

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!! That is the BEST Christmas present! Praying the rest of your pregnancy goes well. Much love! xoxo

Leave a Reply

