the charade

December 31, 2009 at 1:37 pm (pregnancy after miscarriage) (, )

I love champagne. Good champagne. Every year for New Year’s Eve, I splurge and buy a great bottle of Veuve Clicquot. It’s a wonderful way to ring in the new year. I also pick up a cheap bottle to share with everyone once the good stuff is gone. Even though the second bottle is cheap, it’s actually very good and better, in my opinion, that a lot of the mid-tier champagnes. We celebrate the new year with our friends and family at our shared property near Mt.Baker in Washington. This year is going to pose a challenge:

How do I not let people notice that I’m not drinking?

It’s not like it’s a big party – there are a handful of us, all sitting around the campfire drinking beer or wine. I’m not ready to tell anyone at this point, it’s way too early, I’m only five weeks. Besides, I definitely want my mother to be the first person to know. M and I have been talking about some strategies of fake drinks: pretending to mix in vodka with my cranberry and soda, and that sort of thing. When it’s time for the champagne, do I toss it over my shoulder? Such a tragedy to waste it!

It’s going to be tough. If it comes down to it, we’ve decided we’re just going to deny. We’ll see if it works.

3 Comments

  1. Sarah said,

    Is there a way to sneak in some sparkling cider? Make a pretty drink and use sprite as a mixer?

    Worst case scenario you can say it’s your New Year’s resolution not to drink. 🙂

  2. 2LoveBirds said,

    Or you could say you’re on a medication and can’t drink with it. Or say your stomach is feeling off and you don’t want to chance the alcohol. I like cranberry and soda as a nice non-alcoholic drink or pomegranate juice and soda is good too.

    Good luck with the charade!

    Happy New Year!

  3. tasha said,

    Thank you, ladies! I think I pulled it off without anyone noticing! I made pretend vodka and cranberry. I would pour a little bit of vodka down the sink so that there was less in the bottle through the night, lol… Such a waste, but it worked! Luckily for me, I am a bit clumsy sometimes anyway, so when I almost fell off my stool last night, it helped with the charade that I was a bit tipsy 🙂

Leave a Reply

