my, how you’ve grown!

April 23, 2010 at 8:59 pm (Second Trimester, Thoughts) (, , , )

We had our ultrasound yesterday. It has been 12 weeks since our last one and it was in one word: incredible!

At our 9 week ultrasound, baby was 1 inch long and looked just like a gummy bear, complete with the little arm and leg buds. But now! We could see baby’s head in profile, with it’s little nose and mouth! We got a lovely picture of the bottom of baby’s foot, so it looks just like a little footprint. And we also got a picture of baby’s spine, with each and every vertebrae clearly in view. It was so wonderful to see how much baby has grown these past several weeks. The technician also measured baby’s heartbeat at 148, very nice and healthy, to my relief.

I must say, though, there are a couple of things about ultrasounds that I don’t like. One, that M is not allowed to come in the room with me at first. He has to wait outside for about 10 minutes while the tech checks things out, then they let me know that I can get up and tell him to come in. Why is that? I should have asked, I know, but it must be torture for him to sit out there wondering if everything is OK. With every minute that he has to wait longer, I think he must worry that something is wrong and that’s why he hasn’t been summoned in yet. Two, I hate the way the techs look at the screen for so long before they say anything to you. I was laying there for several minutes before she said a word. For the first while, I just looked up at the ceiling, but after awhile I stole a look over at her and watched her changing expressions: frowning, satisfied, curious, frustrated, inquisitive…. I was torturing myself wondering if that meant she saw something she didn’t like or if she just needed a new pair of glasses or a better angle to see what she was looking for. After just a few moments, I decided I shouldn’t drive myself crazy with the guessing and just go back to looking at the ceiling. It was definitely the more sane choice, and I’m glad I forced myself to do it.

She said that baby looked a little bit smaller than expected, which wasn’t a huge surprise to me as that’s what they told us at the first ultrasound. I let her know that my cycles are a bit long, more like 31-33 days instead of 28, so she said that likely explained it and that if the due date is off by up to as much as 6 days, they usually didn’t bother to change it. I may be called back for another ultrasound in 4 weeks if they decide to check on the growth rate, just to make sure that it’s the date that’s off and not that baby isn’t growing fast enough. However, she said that everything looked good and that there were no concerns. Baby was also a bit uncooperative at first, deciding to stay in a curled up position. After I emptied my bladder and came back, I guess baby woke up or maybe had more room in there, and agreed to stretch out a bit for some of the other checks and measurements.

The only other thing is that apparently my placenta is on the front wall of my uterus. This is also called an anterior placenta. It’s not a big deal, even though most of the time, the placenta will be at the top of the uterus. Basically, it just means that baby’s movements may not feel as distinct as they would have if the placenta was not in the way. Think of it as if baby was kicking me through a pillow instead of directly in the gut, which i think is probably a good thing! Luckily, the placenta is pretty tough and won’t be damaged at all, even if baby is using it as a bit of a punching bag or dance floor. I also read that an anterior placenta can sometimes make it a bit more difficult for the doc to hear the baby’s heartbeat with the doppler, but we had no problem at all. As soon as the doctor placed it on my belly, there was the heartbeat, loud and strong, even bigger than last time. We also heard a few swishing sounds, which was baby moving around in there!

I think things are starting to feel more real for me now, as well as more safe. Every time I get to see baby or hear it’s heartbeat, it reassures me. We’re one step closer to meeting in September.

3 Comments

  1. Linda said,

    Awwww…. very sweet.

  2. Jessica said,

    Hey. just curious but it seems like everything you’re gong through is the same as what I’ve been going through. I lost my baby at 5 wks on may 16th 2010. I want to try again but my only thing is the guy I’m with is afraid to try right now. He wants to wait til we are close to 30. I’m 25 and I’ve heard that miscarriages increase with age. He doesn’t seem to understand my longing to fulfil what I’ve lost and I’m not sure what to do. I’m pretty much close to giving into him and givin him what he wants which is for me to get Mirena for next 5 years and then try for a baby. But not a Monday passes that I don’t add up how many weeks I would be if I hadn’t have lost it. However, Congratulations on becoming pregnant successfully your second time around. Please continue to keep us updated. I feel like I know you already through your blogs.

  3. tasha said,

    Hi Jessica, I’m so sorry to hear about your loss. It’s a terrible thing to have to go through, especially when you wanted it so badly. It’s very recent for you, so there are still going to be a lot of questions and emotions that you have to deal with. It sounds like your partner is having a difficult time, too, and my opinion is that you have to give him some time to work through it without pushing him to try again right away. It’s very possible that in a few more weeks, he may feel differently. I agree that pushing back 5 years seems like an awfully long time. As for your age, I’ve read the same thing. I’m 32, but I think the age where it can become more of an issue is 35.
    I wish you the best of luck. Stay strong! And remember that good things can still happen after your miscarriage. I’m now 22 weeks along 🙂

Leave a Reply

