my pregnant body

May 24, 2010 at 4:08 pm (Pregnant body, Second Trimester) ()

I’ve made it to the 25 week mark! I think it’s interesting how I still think of it is “making it another week”… I would bet that women who didn’t have a miscarriage would just think of it as another step along the way. I have to say, though, things are going very well for me now. My body is most definitely visibly pregnant now, and I am loving it! I love how I can still wear most of my old shirts and sweaters, but they are definitely belly-hugging and they certainly don’t hang the way they used to.

I am pleased to report that although I have put on about 15 pounds, it seems to be all belly and boobs. I can’t even button up my jacket anymore! A few weeks ago, I couldn’t do up the bottom half of the buttons because my belly had gotten too big, but today on my walk, I noticed that the button would probably pop off if I tried to keep the top half of my jacket done up! I have gone up two bra sizes already, so I wonder how big they’ll get when I start breastfeeding… Sometimes M and I laugh at how they’ve gotten so big, they almost look fake.

I’ve been very diligent about trying to avoid stretch marks. I apply a special massage lotion every morning and night. I really enjoy this ritual of putting lotion on my tummy. I think of the little baby inside of me when I am applying it, imagining where it’s head or it’s hands may be in  there, and thinking about how much it’s growing to be causing this big belly of mine! I love to look at my tummy after I’ve put the cream on, all big and round and shiny from the lotion. I know some women feel like they hate their bodies when they start getting larger, because pregnancy has changed their formerly fit and trim bodies, but I love it. I love my pregnant body. I love seeing how it’s growing and how my tummy is about the size of a soccer ball now. It sticks almost straight out.

One thing I’ve been watching carefully is my belly button. I’ve read that it can “pop” at any time now. Honestly, that’s one thing I’m not really looking forward to. I don’t want my belly button to stick out! I don’t like how it looks…. I just hope that if it does pop, that it at least hangs on until we get back from our trip. Yes – we’re going to Hawaii next month!! I’m going to go for it and still wear a bikini 🙂 I will have to buy a new one, though, because all of the ones I own are the string top style, and that just isn’t going to hold the ladies in. I will have to get the kind that has the band at the bottom for more support.

I am still kind of stunned that I am nearly at the end of my second trimester. We’ve come such a long way since those dark days of November. There is hope. There is life after miscarriage.

4 Comments

  1. lore said,

    it is so wonderful to be able to follow you. you have given me something to look forward to and a voice of reason to listen to as i have dealt with my own feelings of loss.
    and i am happy to say that i am pregnant again – only 6 wks and i miscarried last time at 12 so i have a long way to go before i will feel “safe” but being able to “watch” you as you go through yours is empowering and beautiful! thank you!

  2. tasha said,

    Congratulations on being pregnant again, Lore!!! I am so happy for you. I know it’s still early but it’s so wonderful that you are on the road again. For me, personally, getting pregnant again was a huge step in recovering from the miscarriage. Good luck to you, and I hope the next 6 weeks go by quickly!

  3. Linda said,

    I miscarried last time and now am happy to say that I am pregnant again and I am at 20 weeks today!!! The baby has been moving!

  4. tasha said,

    Linda, that’s wonderful!!!! Halfway there!! It’s so exciting when you can feel the baby moving 🙂

Leave a Reply

